Smoky Sweetcorn Tacos

Beautifully fresh corn on the cob
Beautifully fresh corn on the cob

I’ve fallen in love with sweetcorn this summer. Not that I hadn’t already been in love with it. Just that I had forgotten I was in love with it. Not the tinned stuff of course, but the real deal corn on the cob.

I remember when we were little, as an after school snack mum would often give us a piece of freshly boiled corn on the cob with a knob of butter. The dedicated cook that she is, she would pick off the kernels by hand to put into an Indian bean and tomato stew for that evening’s dinner. Yum!

Charred, grilled sweetcorn
The grilled sweetcorn

Earlier in the summer we spotted some fresh corn at our amazing, local Turkish greengrocer Mircey. We put them under the grill in their husks until they were blackened and the kernels slightly charred. We dressed them with melted butter mixed with lime and chilli before eating them in an unavoidably messy fashion. Oh sweetcorn, how could I have neglected you! We enjoyed it so much that it immediately became a Saturday lunch staple.

Raw beetroot & courgette matchsticks
Raw beetroot & courgette matchsticks

Last weekend though, I thought I’d try my hand at some tacos. I wanted to keep the smoky, charred flavour so cooked the corn in the same way. I added some raw vegetables to give a contrasting texture, feta, chorizo and coriander, and wrapped it all in some home made corn tortillas.

My attempt at corn tortillas
My attempt at corn tortillas

Given my last minute decision making, I wasn’t able to find any masa harina locally. I did however manage to find some Colombian corn flour which the packet said was fine for tortillas. I haven’t added the recipe for these though as I’m pretty sure they don’t taste like the genuine article.

Smoky Sweetcorn Tacos (enough for 4 people)

Sweetcorn taco
Taco loaded up and ready to go!

2 corn on the cob (in their husks)
2 banana shallots, finely chopped
¼ teaspoon dried chilli flakes (or to taste)
1 clove garlic, crushed
2 medium beetroot
1 courgette
3 limes
Handful coriander
2 cooking chorizo
Feta cheese
Corn tortillas – home made or shop bought

Put the corn on a baking tray and place under a hot grill until the husks are black and the kernels have some colour to them. You will probably need to turn them a few times. Be careful as they do get very hot!

When cool enough to handle, remove the husks and cut the kernels off the cob. Keep aside.

Finely slice the beetroot and courgette, and then chop into matchsticks. You might want to wear gloves to prevent your hands turning bright pink! Dress with the juice of 1½ limes.

Heat the olive oil in a pan with the dried chilli, add the shallots and garlic and allow to soften for 10 mins or so. Add the kernels of corn until they are warmed through.

Meanwhile, cut the chorizo into small pieces and dry fry in a pan until cooked through.

Crumble the feta and roughly chop the coriander.

Warm the tortillas, load them up with a bit of everything and serve with a wedge of lime. For more heat, add some habenero sauce.

5 thoughts on “Smoky Sweetcorn Tacos

Leave a Reply

