End of Season Blackberry Jam

My lucky find in Mircey
My lucky find in Mircey

There are still a few British blackberries floating around in the shops. I spotted some in the ever reliable Mircey last weekend and quickly snapped them up. According to British folklore though I probably shouldn’t have bought them; they would have been cursed and spat on by the devil after he fell down from heaven on Michaelmas. I decided to take my chances and make them into a jam.

The jam on a vigorous boil!
The jam on a vigorous boil!

Other than my apple & chilli jelly, I’d never made a jam before. I used a recipe on the BBC Good Food website and adapted it according to the weight of blackberries I had. I also don’t own a thermometer, so used the ‘plate in the freezer’ trick to check the setting point. It worked, but maybe I was lucky.

Perfect on generously buttered hot toast
Perfect on generously buttered hot toast

I’m happy to say my jam didn’t taste as if the devil had spat in it (not that I would really know what that tastes like)!

I think it’s best eaten spread on hot buttered toast. Or with a scone and clotted cream…

Blackberry Jam (made 375ml) adapted from this BBC Good Food recipe

Blackberry jam ready for the next morning's breakfast
Blackberry jam ready for the next morning’s breakfast

390g blackberries
2 tsp (10ml) lemon juice
1½ tbsp (23ml) water
390g golden granulated sugar

Put a small plate in the freezer.

Wash and drain the blackberries. Place them in a heavy based saucepan with the lemon juice and water and bring to the boil.

Once boiling, lower the heat and simmer until the fruit is soft – approximately 15 minutes.

Add the sugar and stir to dissolve. Turn up the heat and bring to the boil. Boil vigorously for 8 minutes, stirring every now and then to stop it sticking.

Take the pan off the heat. Remove the plate from the freezer and drop a small amount of jam onto it. Let it cool for a few seconds before pushing it with your finger. It’s ready if the surface crinkles slightly. If not, put it back on the heat and check again after a minute.

Allow the jam to rest for a few minutes. Place in sterilised jars while still hot. Give the jars a couple of taps to help remove any air bubbles. Store in the fridge.

2 thoughts on “End of Season Blackberry Jam

  1. Looks great! I got quite into jam-making last summer (living at home with glut of raspberries & blackcurrants). The plate-cooled-in-the-freezer test method never let me down!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

